Coconut Green Tea Mochi Cake

Hi guys! This weekend my family was coming to visit me, so I decided to make coconut green tea mochi cake for them.  My family and I aren’t big on overly sweet desserts or snacks, so I thought this would be a great choice for them.

This recipe is entirely gluten free and isn’t overly sweet, so this can be a great alternative to cupcakes, cakes, or even donuts.  Mochi cake is made out of sweet rice flour (aka glutinous rice flour), so when it is baked or cooked it has a nice chewy soft consistency.  The mochi cake has a nice crispy crust on the outside and chewy on the inside, it’s a very fun texture to experience and not to mention it tastes very delicious!

The next time I make this cake, I believe I will be adding more coconut milk and cutting back on the evaporated milk because I didn’t really taste the coconut flavor.  The most wonderful thing of homemade foods, is that once you have a base recipe you can tweak it however you’d like it.  You can cut/ add more sugar, add more/remove different flavors, there are an infinite amount of possibilities.

Here are the ingredients!

20160130_163347

Ingredients:

1/2 box — 1 1/2 cup of Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour

1 cup of sugar

1 tsp baking powder

3 tsp matcha (green tea) powder

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 can — 7 oz  of nonfat coconut milk

1/2 can — 6 oz evaporated milk

1/2 stick melted butter (cooled)

2 1/2 eggs *

Tip – How to divide 1 egg: First crack an egg into a small shallow bowl and whisk until whites & yolk are combined.  Then use measuring spoons and measure how much is in egg, and do simple math to divide that in half.  1 large egg = ~ 3-4 tablespoons

Step 1:

Preheat oven to 350 F & grease or line your pan.  I used a 9 X 9 pan but you can use any, but you would just need to alter the cooking time.

20160130_164129

 

Step 2:

In a large bowl add all the dry ingredients together and use a whisk to combine; mochiko flour, sugar, matcha powder, baking powder, and salt.

 

 

 

 

20160130_164957

 

Step 3:

In a separate bowl add all the wet ingredients together and use a whisk to combine.  Beat eggs, add coconut milk, add evaporated milk, and melted butter.

Step 4:

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients slowly and whisk until it’s a well combined smooth consistency.

 

20160130_165216

Step 5:

Carefully pour your batter into your greased/ lined pan.  Gently wiggle it, to smooth out the mixture.

Step 6:

Bake in oven for approximately 50-60 minutes or when you poke a toothpick in the middle and it comes out clean.

 

 

20160130_181355

Step 7: 

Let cool for ~10-20 minutes…I couldn’t wait so after 5 minutes I cut it up into small pieces and ate almost 8 pieces, oops :p

I enjoyed eating these with some nice hot tea and binge watching suits on amazon prime. I hope you all enjoyed this recipe, please feel free to leave any comments/ recommendations down below and or follow me! 🙂  I’d love to explore more blogs and share my experience with more lovely people and bloggers.

Leave a Reply

