Savory Chicken Oatmeal

Hello Everyone! Due to the blizzard of 2016 hitting the tri-state area, I decided to make something hot to defrost after hours of shoveling our driveway. This recipe idea originated from my mom because we loved eating rice porridge (jook in cantonese), however eating copious amounts of rice isn’t very healthy for you. So my mom substituted the rice with oatmeal instead while make us rice porridge for breakfast.

I have my own recipe for making chicken rice porridge, so I followed my mom’s idea.  Let me know down below if you’d like for me to share my rice porridge recipe with you guys!  I usually use Quaker old fashioned oats or gluten free oats, but I didn’t have any on hand and couldn’t make a quick run to the grocery store due to the blizzard.  Also, I linked my recipe for my chicken marinade recipe; check it out!

20160119_185733

Ingredients:

1 inch piece of ginger (sliced)

3 big cloves of garlic

1-2 marinated chicken breasts

1/2 large yellow onion

3 cups Irish oatmeal

4-6 cups of chicken broth

1 tsp white pepper (not pictured)

 

Step 1:

In a large pot, drizzle some olive oil on medium heat and add the onions.  Grind about 1 rotation of salt on the onions to bring out some of the moisture.  You just want to sweat the onions out a little bit.  Sautè them until they’re slightly translucent, roughly 5-7 minutes.

Tip – To peel ginger: instead of using a knife and wasting parts of the ginger OR using a peeler which can’t reach the hard crevices. Use a spoon!

  1. Hold the ginger firmly using your non dominate hand.  Have the concave part of the spoon facing the ginger.
  2. Then start scraping the skin from top to bottom

Step 2: 

Add ginger and garlic into the pot.  Sautè for about 5 minutes.  Let the onion, ginger, and garlic get to know each other and be friends so their flavors can meld together.

Step 3:

Add the Irish oatmeal to the pot, and mix until the oatmeal is covered and slightly toasted. Mix around for about 1-2 minutes.

Step 4:

Add the 4 cups of chicken broth to create a nice big swimming pool in the pot for all the ingredient flavors be friends.

Step 5: 

Turn the flame to high and stir the pot a few times. When it comes to a boil, lower to medium low flame. Keep the oatmeal to a light simmer for about 30 minutes. Careful it might boil over!

Tip – Prevent boiling over: 

  1. With a pair of wooden chopsticks, put one lying on the top left side of the pot and the other on the right. Then you can rest the lid on top of the chopsticks.
  2. With a wooden spoon, place that on the middle of the pot without the lid

20160119_194243

Step 6: 

If the oatmeal is too thick, you can continue to add more chicken stock.  Once the oatmeal has a nice milky and liquid consistency, bring up to a boil again.  Once it’s boiling, place the marinated sliced chicken in the oatmeal and stir to break up the chicken.  Bring up to boil again and serve.

20160119_194645Then you’re done! Serve this hot, and you can garnish with some chopped up green onions (scallions) if you’d like. I didn’t have any in my fridge today, but it’s my favorite topping, trust me it’s delightful! You can add a little bit of white pepper, I know some of my friends add a spritz of lemon to cut through the milky consistency of the oatmeal. The toppings and garnishes are limitless!

I hope you all enjoyed this quick and simple savory oatmeal recipe.  I prefer eating oatmeal this way better than the sweet version because this is what I’m used to and it prevents me from snacking or eating too much food.  This is a great way to curb your cravings, especially if you’d like to be healthy for the new year.  A great way to make this even healthier, is using reduced sodium chicken broth to reduce your sodium intake too!

Feel free to leave any comments or recommendations below! Happy cooking and stay warm! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

