Gluten Free Fried Rice

Hello! I will start posting gluten free recipes, since I recently found out I have a gluten allergy.  Shopping for groceries when having a gluten allergy or having celiac disease is not so bad.  Nowadays, there are a lot of gluten free options in grocery stores.  When I found out I couldn’t eat bread, I was very upset! Bread was my favorite thing to eat; ultimately it was easy and inexpensive.  With a busy lifestyle, I would run out of the house with some sort of baked good or pastry in one hand while attending calls for work.   Additionally, food and cooking is my passion so when I realized I couldn’t eat a lot of the food I’ve dreamed of eating, I was devastated.  However, doing some research on the variety of foods that are naturally gluten free; I started creating lots of gluten free dishes.  A bonus to being gluten free and living at home for now, I have helped my family eat a lot healthier and cut out a lot of processed foods.  A lot more fresh fruit, protein, vegetables, and of course lots of fresh herbs & aromatics for added flavor!

This post I will be showing you how to make a scrumptious gluten free fried rice, but the key is to getting a gluten free soy sauce.  I have searched high and low for a good gluten free soy sauce that resembles the taste of the regular soy sauce I grew up eating, and I have! I love the brand “San-J!” They have organic and regular soy sauce that is made of only soy beans and salt.  You can find their products here.  I actually believe it tastes better than the one I grew up with, and that says a lot knowing I grew up in a very traditional Chinese household. This soy sauce is quite concentrated, so a little goes a long way (watch out for your sodium intake!).

Here is a picture of the ingredients for the gluten free fried rice:

G.F. Fried Rice Ingredients

 

Ingredients:

1 medium onion (diced)

3 cloves garlic (chopped)

1-1.5 inch long piece of ginger (sliced)

1 stalk of scallion (chopped)

3 sticks of celery (diced)

2 cups of day old cooked white rice

1/2 piece of cooked ham steaks (diced)

2-3 eggs

1.5-2 tbsp of s&p mixed together

3-5 tbsp of gluten free soy sauce

1 tsp of five spice powder

1 tbsp of white pepper (forgot to include in picture)

2 tbsp of sesame oil

1/8 cup olive oil

First you need to soften the onions and diced ham, so add about 1 tbsp of oil to the wok on medium heat.  Add the onions and 2 grinds of sea salt for it to start sweating the onions.  After you see the onions start to become translucent, add the diced ham and sauté for for about 5 minutes.  Next you need to put this aside in a bowl and start cooking the rice.

Ham and Onions sautè

Ham and Onions Sauté

To cook the rice, you need to get a wok or a big non stick pan and heat it up to medium high with about half of the olive oil. Once the oil is ready you can slowly add the day old rice in (I had left over jasmine rice from dinner, so I just used that).

Tip- A safe way to test when the oil is ready: is to take a wooden utensil like a chopstick or the end of a wooden spoon, stick it in the oil. If there are bubbles coming to the surface where the oil measurement on the wooden utensil is, then it’s ready!

My mom taught me a technique to soften, fry, and break up the rice easily.  First, get either a spatula or a wooden spoon and try to press the rice down until it’s almost flat on the top. Continue pressing down, and let it cook for about 1-2 minutes.  Next use your chosen utensil and break it up! You can continue to do this for about 2 -3 more times, or until the rice is softened and have become little granules.  The reason why you should use day old rice is because freshly cooked rice has too much water content, and will cause the fried rice to be mushy instead of the nice little granules of rice it’s supposed to be.

20150717_162306

These next steps are quite quick, which is the reason why I love stir fry!  It’s time to add your spices to your rice, add your salt and pepper mix, five spice, and white pepper.  Stir fry this for about 10 minutes; if your heat is too high or you need more oil, this is the time to add it in.  After about 10 minutes, it’s time to add your soy sauce and sesame oil.  Stir fry for another 5-10 minutes, until the rice has absorbed all the liquid, then add your onion & ham mixture, celery, scallion, ginger, and garlic.  I suggest to increase your flame to be medium high/high since you added a lot more ingredients in.  You should stir fry this for about 10 minutes.

Fried Rice w/ Ham & Onions

Fried Rice w/ Ham & Onions

G.F. Fried Rice

Your fried rice is almost done! All you need to do is add your eggs, my mom usually scrambles the egg in a separate pan, but in college I got lazy and didn’t want to wash more dishes.  So I just decided to scramble them in the same pan/ wok I cooked the rice in.  First you made a well in the center, add a little olive oil so it doesn’t stick to the pan.  Next you crack then directly into the well you created in the center of the rice.  Lower the heat to medium, and start scrambling the eggs for a few seconds.

Tip – Cooking Eggs: Whenever cooking scrambled eggs, you should never cook on a high heat because eggs are a protein.  Cooking protein on a high heat like scrambled eggs will cause it to seize up and result in dry & hard eggs instead of soft & fluffy eggs. (but of course cook them to your liking, no one is here to judge how you like your food! :D)

Increase the heat to medium-high and begin folding the rice and continue to stir fry the rice until the eggs are cooked.

Scrambling Eggs w/ Fried Rice

Scrambling Eggs w/ Fried Rice

You’re almost done, you just need to taste test your fried rice and add more seasoning to your liking. After you add more seasonings, stir fry it for about 5 more minutes.  If not then your gluten free fried rice is finally finished!!

Gluten Free Fried Rice

Gluten Free Fried Rice

You can serve this for lunch or dinner! I’ve actually served this for brunch for my boyfriend with a fried egg on top and a sausage.  It was delicious, the options are limitless, especially fried rice is a great blank canvas to use up anything in your fridge.  You can substitute the ham with cold cuts, left over meats, and you can even make this vegetarian!  This is why I always have fried rice at least once a week, so I can finish up what I have in my fridge before it goes bad.  I hope you liked this recipe, feel free to comment or follow my blog!

One thought on “Gluten Free Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

